Consanguineous Minds

A blog of endless curiosity

It’s easy to live with your back to the world when there’s blood congealed in your new iPhone.

I wish I could claim the title as my own, but it belongs to a poem called ‘Scrooge’ by a poet called Pip Smith who’s resident at the wonderful Lifted Brow this Summer. The line invokes the humanitarian issues in the factories where the Western world’s electronics are made – including iPhone factories.  My favourite poem is ‘Howl’, and ‘Scrooge’ evokes similar images for me – Mighty Moloch is at work in Pip Smith’s gifts to the baby born in a barn in ‘Scrooge’. I highly recommend checking her out! I also really like another couple of poems of hers called ‘The Rules Aren’t Clear’ and ‘Happy Christmas (Don’t Get Tasered)’.

Moloch in the film ‘Metropolis’ by Fritz Lang

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
